History of the building

Das Hans Fallada Museum in CarwitzHans Falladas Arbeitsplatz in CarwitzThe present Hans Fallada Museum was the writer’s home from 1933 to 1944. Most of his epic works were written in Carwitz. His wife Anna Ditzen sold the property to the “Children’s Book” Publishing House Berlin in 1965.
In 1977 the writer’s study was opened for the public.
In 1983 on the occasion Fallada’s 90th birthday celebrations the so-called Circle of Hans Fallada’s Friends was founded. As it was forbidden to establish private societies in the GDR at the time it had to be a circle of friends instead of a society.
Finally in 1991 the members of the Circle of Hans Fallada’s Friends were able to set up an official society today known as Hans-Fallada- Society.
The museum could only be opened after the town of Feldberg supported by the ministry of education and cultural affairs of the state Mecklenburg-Vorpommern had purchased the property.
Between 1996 and 2002 the whole property was restored following the rules of the preservation of historic monuments and trying to make it like the model in 1938. In 2006 and 2007 the room for exhibitions was generously extended.

The museum features the life and career of Hans Fallada by documenting his accomplishments with pictures, relics, and books, and focusing on his many years in Carwitz.
Nine rooms of the museum present Germany’s finest collection of Fallada’s personal belongings, manuscripts, letters and first editions.Visitors can walk through Hans Fallada’s study whose original furnishings have been preserved, the family’s dining room as well as rooms true to the original like the porch and the kitchen, which offer visitors many insights into Fallada’s lifestyle and working habits.
In addition the museum provides an exhibition of photos named “Hans Fallada – Life History”, a complete collection of first editions, an exhibition about Hans Fallada as an author of children’s books which is to be seen in the former room of his daughter Lore, special exhibitions about Fallada topics in the first floor as well as documentaries that can be watched  in the audiovisual room of the museum.
Opposite the museum in the former barn visitors can look around various exhibitions on different topics or admire photographs taken by Hans Fallada himself which give an impression of how the writer perceived his home and the Carwitz surrounding area.
The extensive gardens around the house enjoy fine views across the surrounding landscape and the lake, and here Fallada worked in the orchard, grew vegetables or took care of his bees.
Visitors can admire the apiary, the beautiful triangular flower bed and the family’s sitting area by the lakeside.
In the summer people can attend theatre performances, listen to readings or enjoy concerts in the barn or outside on the estate.
The museum offers guided tours, literary walks, lectures and readings throughout the whole year. Of course, the museum provides multimedia guides as well as special activities for children.
The Hans-Fallada-Archive, which belongs to the “Literary Centre of Neubrandenburg”, is located on the first floor of the former barn and offers academics outstanding working conditions.
Since 2002 the Hans-Fallada-Museum has been acknowledged by the government of the Federal Republic of Germany as a “Cultural Memorial of National Importance”.

(Photos: Thomas Mészáros, Greifswald)